The Church of Our Lady of Patrocinio, located in Boljoon, Cebu, was built in 1599 under the direction of the Augustinians. The jurisdiction over the church was then transferred to the Jesuits in 1737. Conceived as a fortress-church, which stands on a hill overlooking the sea, with features that provide safety for the parishioners against periodic Moro raids.
The exterior facade of the church, has a watchtower-like bell tower belongs to a chain of southern Cebuano churches and watch towers, particularly in the neighboring towns of Argao and Dalaguete. Constructed from locally quarried coral stone and topped with a roof of terra cotta tiles, the architectural volumes are simple, which contrasts with the more ornamented interior, which follows the trompe l'oeil style of Alberoni and Dibella.
The Boljoon Church is the oldest remaining original stone church in Cebu. In 1999, the National Historical Institute declared it a National Historical Landmark. The following year, the National Museum declared it as a National Cultural Treasure.