The centuries-old church was declared a National Cultural Treasure by the National Museum by virtue of the declaration signed by National Museum Director, Corazon S. Alvina last October 29, 2007. A historical marker was unveiled on October 16, 2007.
The Daraga Church was built by Franciscan missionaries in 1773 when the present town of Daraga was but a barrio of the older town of Cagsawa. The catastrophic eruption of Mayon Volcano on February 1, 1814 destroyed Cagsawa, Budiao and three other towns and killed almost 2,000 people. Today, only the belfry of the old Cagsawa church remains as a mute testimony to Mayon’s treacherous wrath. The survivors of the 1814 eruption chose to relocate to Daraga. This was then approved by the Governor-General on October 4, 1814 and implemented on November 7,1814.
The design of the Daraga Church can be described as a blend of architectural styles: Renaissance Gothic and Mexican baroque. The result: an indigenous baroque style that distinguishes it from other colonial churches in the Philippines. The facade was carefully carved from volcanic stones. Distinct features of the Daraga Church facade include the four spiral columns with medallions at the center of each column bearing images of the four Evangelists.