El Faro De Punta Bagacay, also known as Bagacay Point Lighthouse, which still stands today on top of the hill in Barangay Catarman, Liloan, Cebu, was originally established in 1857 by the Spanish government and was never built until the end of the Spanish occupation.
The Americans took over the project and the landmark was built, standing at 72 feet overlooking the Mactan Channel, by virtue of an executive order issued in July 1903 by William Howard Taft, the first American Governor General in the Philippines.
It is not clear if the construction started in 1904 or the lightouse was finished in 1904, as inscribed in the lighthouse's main entrance. Nevertheless, it still is in good condition.
According to Wikipedia, the lighthouse was first lit on April 1, 1905, The present octagonal tower is all masonry and is powered by electricity (others are solar-powered) and continued to guide vessels approaching the northeast entrance of the Cebu harbor. It was declared a national Historical Landmark on August 13, 2004.
The town and people of Liloan, Cebu take pride of this historical structure as they constructed a replica at the town center.
|The Bagacay Lighthouse replica located at the town center|